As you may be aware, the province has introduced the Government of Alberta’s Critical Worker Benefit. This benefit will provide a one-time payment of $1,200 to eligible individuals in recognition of their hard work to provide Albertans with the care and critical services they need throughout the pandemic.

The Government of Alberta has defined the positions that are eligible to receive this benefit. Based on their criteria, the Division has been asked to identify relevant positions that are eligible for the benefit. 

Eligible categories (and positions within each category) as defined by the Government of Alberta include:

  • Educational assistants category

    • teacher assistants

    • librarians

    • library assistants

    • food service and cafeteria workers

    • learning commons staff

    • English Language Learner assistants

    • school bus attendants

  • Bus drivers category

    • contracted school bus drivers

    • board employed school bus drivers

  • Custodians category

    • board employed school custodians

    • contracted employed school custodians

  • School secretarial staff category

    • school secretaries

    • school office assistants

Only positions working directly in a school are eligible as directed by the Government of Alberta. To receive the benefit, individuals must have a minimum of 300 paid hours of work between October 12, 2020 and January 31, 2021. Paid hours of work includes all paid time. Overtime is included at straight time. 

The required number of paid hours is prorated for staff who are not in permanent positions. If a staff member is being paid by a third party (e.g., WCB, ASEBP) the hours paid by the third party will not be included in the total hours calculated.

The Division has pulled a list of eligible positions and staff members in those positions who meet the criteria as defined by the Government of Alberta. This list has been submitted to the Government of Alberta for approval prior to payment. 

Individual eligibility for this benefit cannot be confirmed until the Division receives final approval from the Government of Alberta.

Once approved, the payment will be processed. At this time, the Division is planning to deposit the Government of Alberta’s Critical Worker Benefits through direct deposit on March 30, 2021. If approval is not received in time for the payment to occur on this date, we will update you before March 30.

The Division is required to deduct income tax, Canada Pension Plan and Employment Insurance from this payment. The payment is not pensionable and will be included on the T4 for 2021.

If you have general questions about eligibility or the program, please contact the Government of Alberta’s Critical Worker Benefit program staff between 8:15 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday (excluding statutory holidays), at 780-310-4455.

You can also contact Payroll at 780-429-8163 with specific questions, however, individual eligibility cannot be confirmed until final approval is received from the Government of Alberta.


Angela Anderson

Chief Human Resources Officer, Human Resources

Edmonton Public Schools

(780) 429-8070